WPC: Dreamy Sunrise in Bagan

Bagan-8482

“No, I’m not a kind of sunrise-watching tourists. Sunrise looks the same everywhere,” a guy I met on the road in Myanmar said to me, when I told him that I planned to wake up at 4.30 am and ride my bicycle to watch the sunrise on the top of Shwesandaw Paya, Bagan.

Oh, I wish he had seen this view. It might have changed his mind. This is and still remains the most beautiful sunrise view I have seen so far. Like in a dream!

November 2012, Bagan, Myanmar.

(This post is part of the Weekly Photo Challenge, in which Michelle W. asked us to show something dreamy.)

16 thoughts on “WPC: Dreamy Sunrise in Bagan

  1. Well, I think all the sunrises are differen, even at the same place.
    It depends on the weather, clouds and also your own mind.
    Anyway it is allways the best time of the day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree with you, especially the point that it also depends on your mind. I have been back to Bagan a few times after the above-mentioned trip and watched the sunrise from the very same spot. But it was never the same.

      Maybe it was because I could not get the beautiful memory of the sunrise above out of my head. 😉

      Like

    1. Thank you. 🙂 During the high season (October – March), there are hot air balloon services for tourists to appreciate the beautiful view over the “sea of pagodas” in Bagan. I think it must be one of the world’s best ballooning spots.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi The Bella Travelista. Sorry for my late reply.

      Yes, 7 days are enough for visiting major attractions in the three cities in Myanmar, provided that you travel by plane. (Most domestic flights for city-hopping are early in the morning.) A popular route is Yangon-Bagan-Mandalay. (From Mandalay, you can catch international flights back to Bangkok.)

      If you plan to travel by bus, you may need a few days more. Otherwise it could be exhausting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

